Songwriters Inducted Into Nashville Hall Of Fame - | Nashville News, Weather & Sports

Songwriters Inducted Into Nashville Hall Of Fame

Posted: Updated:
2011 Inductees to Songwriters Hall of Fame 2011 Inductees to Songwriters Hall of Fame

By Chris Cannon

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - The newest members of the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame were inducted during a ceremony Sunday night. Country superstars Garth Brooks and Alan Jackson were among the songwriters this year.

"You can talk about artistry all day. You can talk about live tour dates, everything, it starts with a song. So to be considered a songwriter is a hell of a compliment in this town, and in all of music, so I feel like this is the big one," said Brooks.

He was a co-writer on such classics as "The Thunder Rolls" and "If Tomorrow Never Comes."

Jackson was also inducted as a songwriter/artist. He has written, or co-written, 24 of his 35 number one hits.

"I've always put songwriting as my favorite part. That's the most creative side of it. Making the record in the studio is as well, but you have to have something to record, so the song is always the first thing," explained Jackson.

John Bettis was also inducted into the hall of fame. He wrote such classics as "Slow Hand," "Human Nature" and "Top Of The World."

"For a songwriter, this is the biggest night, because it's voted on by songwriters and people who do exactly what I do, everyday of their life, just like I do," Bettis said.

Inductee Thom Schuyler penned the songs "Long Line Of Love," "Old Yellow Car" and "Years After You."

The final inductee of the evening, Allen Shamblin, wrote the songs "He Walked On Water," "Don't Laugh At Me," and most recently "The House That Built Me."

Also at Sunday's ceremony the Nashville Songwriters Association International honored the best of the year.

The organization's professional songwriter members voted "If I Die Young," by Kimberly Perry, as their song of the year.

Songwriter of the year honors went to Chris DuBois, co-writer of hits such as Brad Paisley's "Anything Like Me," and "Water."

The songwriter/artist of the year was presented for the fourth time in five years to Taylor Swift. This year she wrote the hits "Back To December" and "Mean."


Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 NewsChannel 5 (WTVF-TV) and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.