Garth Brooks, Two Others Named CMHOF Inductees - | Nashville News, Weather & Sports

Garth Brooks, Two Others Named CMHOF Inductees

Posted: Updated:
Garth Brooks Garth Brooks
Connie Smith Connie Smith
Hargus "Pig" Robbins Hargus "Pig" Robbins

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Country superstar Garth Brooks, singer Connie Smith and keyboard player Hargus "Pig" Robbins are the newest members of the Country Music Hall of Fame.

The announcement was made Tuesday morning at a news conference at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum.

Brooks will be inducted in the "Modern Era Artist" category, while Smith will be inducted in the "Veterans Era Artist" category. Robbins will be inducted in the "Recording and/or Touring Musician Active Prior to 1980" category, which is awarded every third year in a rotation with the "Non-Performer" and "Songwriter" categories.

"I am astounded and honored to be in the Country Music Hall of Fame," said Brooks. "At the same time, I can't help but feel guilty going in when there are so many deserving artists that came before me who are yet to be inducted."

Brooks took country music to a new level over a 15-year period, becoming the top-selling solo artist in the U.S. with more than 128 million albums sold.

Garth Brooks hit the airwaves in 1989 with "Much Too Young (To Feel This Damn Old)", his first single from his self-titled album. By 1994, he went on his first world tour. 

Brooks was inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame and the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2011.

Smith, the wife of country singer Marty Stuart, is among a pioneering wave of female singers who helped lay the foundation for today's success by women in country music. Her song "Once A Day" was the first debut single from a female Country artist to hit No. 1.

And Robbins is considered among the top session players in Nashville over a 50-year career that's included work for everyone from George Jones to Bob Dylan.

Both Smith and Brooks are members of the Grand Ole Opry.

The addition of Brooks, Robbins, and Smith will increase membership to 118 inductees.

Their induction ceremonies will be held at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum later this year.

Last year, three new members were added, including Bobby Braddock, Jean Shepard, and Reba McEntire.

Induction into the Hall of Fame is considered country music's highest honor.

(The Associated Press Contributed To This Report.)

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 NewsChannel 5 (WTVF-TV) and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.