Education Commissioner Announces 21 Top Systems - | Nashville News, Weather & Sports

Education Commissioner Announces 21 Top Systems

Posted: Updated:

SEVIERVILLE, Tenn. (AP) - Tennessee education officials have announced 21 school districts have significantly improved student performance.

At an event in Sevierville on Monday, Education Commissioner Kevin Huffman announced which districts earned exemplary designations for the 2011-12 academic year.

The top county systems include Blount, Claiborne, Fayette, Henry, Loudon, Marshall, Rutherford, Sequatchie, Sevier, Smith and Trousdale.

Also earning the designation were city or special school districts in Fayetteville, Hollow Rock-Bruceton, Franklin, McKenzie, Milan, Newport, Rogersville, South Carroll, Sweetwater and Union City.

Huffman said it is incredibly hard to grow results while closing achievement gaps and it was important to highlight school systems that excelled in both areas.

The districts raised T-CAP scores, progressed in closing gaps between groups of students and ensured improvements for minorities, including disabled and disadvantaged students.

(Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 NewsChannel 5 (WTVF-TV) and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.