CMA PRESENTS 2012 SRO AWARDS - | Nashville News, Weather & Sports


Posted: Updated:




NASHVILLE – The winners of CMA's touring industry honors known as the SRO (Standing Room Only) Awards, were presented by superstar artist and radio personality Kix Brooks and CMA Chief Executive Officer Steve Moore tonight during "The 42nd Annual IEBA Conference" in conjunction with the presentation of the IEBA Awards and Hall of Fame Induction in Nashville.

"Following the success of the inaugural CMA Touring Musician Award in 2011, the CMA Board felt that the SRO Awards in their entirety should be reintroduced in 2012," said Moore.  "The touring industry is a vibrant part of our business and these hard-working individuals are very deserving of this recognition."

Winners were determined in two rounds of balloting with CMA members in the following categories: Affiliated, Artist, Engineer, Entertainment Services, Musician, Personal Manager, Publicist, Record Label, Talent Agent, Talent Buyer/Promoter, TV/Video/Media, and Venue. Ballots were tabulated by the international accounting firm Deloitte & Touche, LLP.


CMA's SRO Awards 2012 winners are as follows (in alphabetical order by category):

Business Manager of the Year

  • Mary Ann McCready (Flood, Bumstead, McCready & McCarthy, Inc.)


Coach/Truck Driver of the Year

  • John Stalder  (Kenny Chesney)


FOH (Front of House) Engineer

  • John McBride  (Martina McBride)


Lighting Director of the Year

  • Aaron Swetland (Jason Aldean)

Manager of the Year

  • Clarence Spalding (Spalding Entertainment)


Tour Manager of the Year

  • David Farmer (Kenny Chesney)


Monitor Engineer of the Year

  • Robert Bull (Clair Bros. Audio Entertainment, Inc.)


Production Manager of the Year

  • Ed Wannebo (Kenny Chesney)


Publicist of the Year

  • Mary Hilliard Harrington (The Green Room PR)  


Talent Agent of the Year

  • Mike Betterton (Dale Morris & Associates, Inc.)


Tour Caterer of the Year

  • TomKats Catering


Touring Musician of the Year

  • Nick Hoffman (Kenny Chesney)


Venue of the Year

  • Ryman Auditorium (Nashville, Tenn.)


Video Director of the Year

  • Shaun Silva (Tacklebox Films)


*An individual or company cannot win two consecutive years in the same category.

The SRO Awards were originally created by the CMA Board of Directors in 1990 to honor outstanding professional achievement within the touring industry.

The first SRO Awards were presented at a black tie gala, hosted by K.T. Oslin and Roger Miller, during CMA's Entertainment Expo, which was also known as the Talent Buyers Entertainment Marketplace. Ten SRO Awards were presented at the first gala and the number of awards swelled to 19 before the last were handed out at SRO '97. Last year, the Touring Musician of the Year Award was once again presented, with 13 additional categories returning this year. Finalists were announced in May.


International Entertainment Buyers Association (IEBA) is a non-profit trade organization for live entertainment industry professionals. Founded in 1970, IEBA provides networking, showcasing and educational opportunities to strengthen relationships, foster growth and increase revenue for the live entertainment industry. IEBA showcases the best and brightest talent in all genres of music and all fields of entertainment. IEBA is an intimate organization that makes a huge impact. At IEBA ...The Buying Starts Here.



Country Music Association: More than 11,000 music industry professionals and companies around the globe are members of CMA. Formed in 1958 as the first trade association for a single genre of music, the organization's objectives are to serve as an educational and professional resource for the industry while advancing the growth of Country Music around the world. This is accomplished through CMA's core initiatives – CMA Music Festival and the companion CMA Music Festival television special, "CMA Music Festival: Country's Night to Rock"; the CMA Awards, recognized as "Country Music's Biggest Night™" airing live Nov. 1; and CMA's latest television venture "CMA Country Christmas." All of CMA's TV properties air on the ABC Television Network through 2021. For information about CMA visit

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 NewsChannel 5 (WTVF-TV) and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.