Vandy's Franklin Named 2013 Tennessean Of The Year - | Nashville News, Weather & Sports

Vandy's Franklin Named 2013 Tennessean Of The Year

Posted: Updated:

NASHVILLE, Tenn. –Vanderbilt football head coach James Franklin has been named Tennessean of the Year by the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame.

Franklin is the first Vanderbilt coach to receive the award. Franklin guided the 2012 Commodores to a 9-4 campaign capped by a 38-24 victory over N.C. State in the Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl in Nashville.

The 2012 team matched a school record for single-season victories that dates back to 1915. They also ended with a seven-game win streak, which ranks as the longest active streak in the Southeastern Conference.

In the two seasons since Franklin was named head coach, Franklin has led the team to a 15-11 overall record and consecutive postseason bowl appearances for the first time in the team's 122-year football history.

The award is presented to an individual or organization that has made significant contributions to Tennessee through sports or other methods, demonstrating outstanding character and leadership. Last year's recipient of the award was former University of Tennessee woman's basketball coach Pat Summitt.

Franklin will be recognized at the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame banquet on Saturday, May 4 at the Renaissance Hotel in Nashville.

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 NewsChannel 5 (WTVF-TV) and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.