Nashville Signs Treaty With Australian Sister City - | Nashville News, Weather & Sports

Nashville Signs Treaty With Australian Sister City

Posted: Updated:

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) - Nashville's mayor has signed a treaty joining the Tennessee capital with its sister city of Tamworth, Australia.

Nashville Mayor Karl Dean and Tamworth Mayor Col Murray signed the treaty on Friday to coincide with the CMA Music Festival taking place in downtown Nashville.

Tamworth is known as the "Country Music Capital of Australia" and annually hosts the Tamworth Country Music Festival in January.

Murray said many links developed between Tamworth and Nashville over the years through the affinity both cities have for country music.

Tamworth is Nashville's seventh sister city. Others include Belfast, Northern Ireland; Caen, France; Edmonton, Canada; Magdeburg, Germany; Mendoza, Argentina; and Taiyuan, China.

(Copyright 2013 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 NewsChannel 5 (WTVF-TV) and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.