Owen, Swift Among Honorees At Songwriters Hall Of Fame Ceremony - NewsChannel5.com | Nashville News, Weather & Sports

Owen, Swift Among Honorees At Songwriters Hall Of Fame Ceremony

Posted: Updated:

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Alabama front-man Randy Owen and Taylor Swift were among those honored at this year's Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. 

The Nashville Songwriters Association International honored this year's honorees during a ceremony Sunday. Some of the inductees included Randy Owen, Will Jennings, Layng Martin, Jr., and Jeffrey Steele. The inductees have worked with some of music's most talented stars such as Keith Urban, Cher, Reba McIntere, B.B. King and Elivs Presley.

Inductee Jeffrey Steele said he was overwhelmed by the honor.

"When you're doing something that you love, the reward is right there," said Steele. "Just doing that and I've always looked at it that way and I had a lot of big dreams and been able to accomplish a lot of things but this one was never on my radar."

Taylor Swift also made history at this year's ceremony. She was awarded the prestigious, Songwriter/Artist of the Year Award for the sixth time in seven years, more than any other artist.

"Breaking a record on any given day, anytime you get to say you broke a record for something is wonderful, and I'm just so thankful to the songwriters of Nashville voting for me six times in a row," said Swift. "It's crazy, it's generous, it's amazing."

The Nashville Songwriters Association International was established in 1967. 

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 NewsChannel 5 (WTVF-TV) and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.