2013 News Links - NewsChannel5.com | Nashville News, Weather & Sports

2013 News Links

Monday, December 23, 2013
  • Donations are still being accepted to assist the flood victims of the Parkwood Villa Apartments. Although residents have been allowed to move back into their renovated apartments, many of their belongings were destroyed in the August flood. Westminster Home Connection is assisting those families with the rebuidling efforts. To contribute, visit their website
Sunday, December 22, 2013
  • The Street Smart Program allows restaurant diners to add $1 to their check to benefit the homeless community. All proceeds are donated to the Room In The Inn. For a complete list of restaurants who participate in the program, visit their website
Saturday, December 21, 2013
  • For the latest information on weather related road closures, evacuations, or shelters, visit Metro Nashville's NERVE (Nashville Emergency Response Viewing Engine) map. 
Friday, December 20, 2013 
  • The EPA has recommended several websites to those who have been affected by the plant fire.  Visit the EPA's website for reports on the fire. For more information on the Wrigley Charcoal Superfund Site, visit their website. You can also email Candice Teichert for more information on the Superfund Site. 
Thursday, December 19, 2013
Wednesday, December 18, 2013
Tuesday, December 17, 2013
  • Where does Tennessee rank when it comes to protecting citizens from infectious disease? Visit healthyamericans.org for more information. 
Thursday, December 12, 2013
  • Grace King has set up a Facebook page on how you can help the homeless: http://on.nc5.co/1jUMOGF. You can also long onto safehaven.org for more information.  
  • Local Filipino Americans held a concert at Marathon Music Works to benefit victims of Typhoon Haiyan. For more information on the International Relief Teams, visit their website
Wednesday, December 11, 2013
  • A poll conducted by Vanderbilt University shows more than three in five Tennesseans support an expansion of Medicaid, though nearly half also have a negative view of the federal health care law. Click to view the study: http://on.nc5.co/1cBQqd7
Tuesday, December 10, 2013
Monday, December 9, 2013
  • The Last Minute Toy Store provides toy donations to children of low-income families around the Nashville area. This year, they are in need of more donations. If you would like to help, visit their website
  • Link to the nominees of the 2013 Anne Chapman Holiday Lights Competition. For a complete list of nominees: http://on.nc5.co/1iRo1Fq
  • To stay ahead of the latest traffic conditions during winter weather, visit TDOT's Smartmap.
  • Families of the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting have announced a new website, detailing how the individual families are honoring each victim. December 14 is the one year anniversary of the shooting. For more information, visit mysandyhookfamily.org.
Sunday, December 8, 2013
  • Several school systems have closed as a result of the icy weather that moved through the area of the weekend. For a complete list of school closings, visit our NewsChannel 5 Snow Watch page: http://on.nc5.co/19aLDia
Saturday, December 7, 2013
  • A petition on Change.org is requesting the District Attorney to re-open the murder-suicide case of Steve McNair and Sahel Kazemi. 
Friday, December 6, 2013
  • Nashville has canceled its annual Christmas Parade and tree lighting ceremony due to the threat of icy conditions. For a complete list of cities who have also canceled Christmas parade plans: http://on.nc5.co/1iGZJxM
Thursday, December 5, 2013
Tuesday, December 3, 2013
Monday, December 2, 2013
  • Traveling this holiday season? Nashville International Airport has some tips from how to pack you bags and using your mobile device to make your holiday travel easier this year: http://on.nc5.co/IAZ8wP 
  • Beginning January 1, 2014, the Franklin Farmer's Market will no longer allow dogs at the market, except in the case of service dogs. Read more information on the market board's decision: http://on.nc5.co/IAZALC 
  • The Governor's home, known as the Tennessee Residence, is open for holiday tours during the first two weeks of December. The tours are free, but you have to register. You can find more information about the tours here: http://on.nc5.co/1bbwEUx. Click on the "Register Now" link to see what days are available.  
  • Giving Tuesday is a nationwide movement focused on giving and celebrates charities everywhere. 
    More information on Giving Tuesday go to: http://www.unitedwaynashville.org/
Saturday, November, 30, 2013
Thursday, November 28, 2013
Wednesday, November 27, 2013
Tuesday, November 26, 2013
Monday, November 25, 2013
Saturday November 23, 2013
Friday, November 22, 2013
Thursday, November 21, 2013
Wednesday, November 20, 2013
Tuesday, November 19, 2013
Monday, November 18, 2013
Thursday, November 14, 2013
Wednesday, November 13, 2013
Monday, November 11, 2013
Saturday, November 9, 2013
Friday, November 8, 2013
Thursday, November 7, 2013
Wednesday, November 6, 2013
Tuesday, November 5, 2013
Monday, November 4, 2013
Saturday, November 2, 2013
  • Information about Hatch Show Print's grand opening for their new location. Saturday's activities include an art crawl highlighting master printer Jim Sherraden's works from 6 until 9 p.m.  Sunday's events include an artifact talk at noon, a book signing with Jim Sherraden at 2 p.m. and a letterpress workshop from 1 until 3 p.m. 
  • Learn more about the TDOC jobfair by visiting their website or watch their recruitment video.
Friday, November 1, 2013
Thursday, October 31, 2013 
Wednesday, October 30, 2013
Tuesday, October 29, 2013
Monday, October 28, 2013
Sunday, October 27, 2013
Friday, October 25, 2013
Thursday, October 24, 2013
Wednesday, October 23, 2013
Tuesday, October 22, 2013
Monday, October 21, 2013
Saturday, October 19, 2013
Friday, October 18, 2013
Thursday, October 17, 2013
Wednesday, October 16, 2013
Tuesday, October 15, 2013
Saturday, October 12, 2013
Friday, October 11, 2013
Thursday, October 10, 2013
Wednesday, October 9, 2013 

 Tuesday, October 8, 2013

Monday, October 7, 2013

  • To request a refund involving a Corps park please contact the reservation customer service at 1-888-448-1474 (TDD 1-877-833-6777). If the customer chooses to do nothing, the reservation service will automatically cancel reservations after their departure date during the shutdown period.
  • To donate old phones to the YWCA: 
    1608 Woodmont Blvd., Nashville, TN, 37215
    (615) 269-9922

Saturday, October 5, 2013

Thursday, October 3, 2013

 Tuesday, October 1, 2013

Monday, September 30, 2013 

Sunday, September 29, 2013

  • The Kenyan Association of Middle Tennessee is raising money for local people who have family that were killed or wounded in the shopping mall terrorist attack. They've set up a bank account that people can contribute to:

    Bank of America
    Kenya Association of Middle Tennessee Donation
    Account # 444015956323

Saturday, September 28, 2013

Friday, September 27, 2013 

Thursday, September 26, 2013 

Wednesday, September 25, 2013 

 Tuesday, September 24, 2013

Monday, September 23, 2013

Sunday, September 22, 2013

Saturday, September 21, 2013 

Friday, September 20, 2013

Thursday, September 19, 2013

 Wednesday, September 18, 2013

 Tuesday, September 17, 2013

  • MTSU True Blue Initiative
  • Sign Up for the Mayor's Neighborhood Challenge
  • Fort Campbell is hosting a job fair on September 18 and 19 at Cole Park Commons, 1610 William C. Lee Road, Fort Campbell, KY from 9a.m. - 3 p.m. September 18th will feature 60+ International and National employers, and  September 19th will feature 60+ Local and Regional employers, who have offices within a 100-mile radius of Fort Campbell. 
    For more information about open positions, visit campbell.army.mil.

Monday, September 16, 2013

Sunday, September 15, 2013

Friday, September 13, 2013

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Tuesday, September 10, 2013

Monday, September 9, 2013

  • Emma Bradshaw Fund
    Donations can be made at any local Bank of America location
    All donations help the family with medical expenses

Friday, September 6, 2013

Thursday, September 5, 2013

 Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Tuesday, September 3, 2013

Friday, August 30, 2013
Wednesday, August 28, 2013
Tuesday, August 27, 2013
  • Musicians Hall of Fame & Museum
  • Gap Inc. has flexible part-time, seasonal and full-time positions available. Job seekers can apply by visiting www.gapinc.com/careers and entering #02AON (seasonal), #02AO0 (part-time) or #O2B12 (full-time). For additional information, please call 615-206-6016.
  • Local Franklin businesses to give part of today's proceeds to charities; find out which ones are participating by going here
Monday, August 26, 2013

Saturday, August 24, 2013
Friday, August 23, 2013
Thursday, August 22, 2013
Wednesday, August 21, 2013
Tuesday, August 20, 2013
Monday, August 19, 2013
Sunday, August 18, 2013
Thursday, August 15, 2013
Wednesday, August 14, 2013
Tuesday, August 13, 2013
Monday, August 12, 2013
Saturday, August 10, 2013
Friday, August 9, 2013
Wednesday, August 7, 2013
  • USDA Wildlife Services / 1-866-4-USDAWS
Tuesday, August 6, 2013
Monday, August 5, 2013
Sunday, August 4, 2013
Friday, August 2, 2013
Thursday, August 1, 2013
Wednesday, July 31, 2013
  • National Beef Packing Company Recall
    Recalling Nature Source, Nature Well and National Beef products produced on July 18th
    Product Code Involved:
  • 10 lb. chub of "National Beef" 93/ 7 Fine Ground Beef, Product Code 0707
  • 10 lb. chub of "NatureSource" 80/20 Fine Ground Chuck, Product Code 7031
  • 10 lb. chub of "NatureSource" 85/15 Fine Ground Beef, Product Code 7054
  • 10 lb. chub of "NatureSource" 90/10 Fine Ground Beef, Product Code 7344
  • 10 lb. chub of "NatureSource" 93/ 7 Fine Ground Beef, Product Code 7004
  • 10 lb. chub of "NatureWell 80/20 Fine Ground Chuck, Product Code 7484
  • 10 lb. chub of "NatureWell" 85/15 Fine Ground Beef, Product Code 7454
  • 10 lb. chub of "NatureWell" 90/10 Fine Ground Sirloin, Product Code 7577
  • 10 lb. chub of "NatureWell" 93/7 Fine Ground Beef, Product Code 7404
  • First Responders Benefit Concert
  • The Metro Nashville Police Department's eBid Nashville web site has some interesting items, including these snake belts
  • Consumer Reports: Best Hospital for Surgery
  • Franklin Tomorrow Transportation Issues Survey
  • Apply for jobs at the Spring Hill Walmart store
Tuesday, July 30, 2013
Monday, July 29, 2013
Sunday, July 28, 2013
Friday, July 26, 2013
Thursday, July 25, 2013

Wednesday, July 24, 2013

Tuesday, July 23, 2013
  • The public can show their support for service dogs for veterans, regardless of geography, by making a donation online at www.dogtopia.com to help Dogtopia raise awareness and meet the fundraising go, al of $30,000 for the cause or text "Dogtopia" to 50155. All funds raised will benefit service dogs for veterans.

Saturday, July 20, 2013

  • Visit iamtheengine.org/ to learn more about the group taking old sporting equipment to give away to local youth. 
  • Cedars of Lebanon Park reopened a butterfly garden, Saturday, with activities until 8pm. Visit tnstateparks.com/Cedars for more info. 

Thursday, July 18, 2013

  • There is a call center for parents who have questions about getting ready for the start of this school year. During the school year, they're open Monday through Friday, 6:30 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. Call (615) 259-INFO (4636) or you can visit their website atmnps.org/Page66226.aspx.
  • For a list of those employers participating in the 5th Annual Safe & Sound Career Expo, click here.
  • Read Vanderbilt University Medical Center's open letter about layoffs.
  • Rhapsody in Bluegrass Thursday, July 25 at 7:30 pm at the Grand Ole Opry House. Tickets are $35 and $25 and available now, . 
Tuesday, July 16, 2013
Monday, July 15, 2013
Saturday, July 13, 2013
Friday, July 12, 2013
Wednesday, July 10, 2013
Monday, July 8, 2013

Saturday, July 6, 2013

Tuesday, July 2, 2013
Saturday, June 29, 2013
Friday, June 28, 2013
Thursday, June 27, 2013

Wednesday, June 26, 2013

Tuesday, June 25, 2013

Monday, June 24, 2013
Sunday, June 23, 2013

Saturday, June 22, 2013

 Friday, June 21, 201, 3

, Thursday, June 20, 2013

Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Tuesday, June 18, 2013

Monday, Ju, ne 17, 2013

Saturday, June 15, 2013

  • Minority Scholarship information:

If you are interested in applying for the Cap, tain Luther J. Hunter, Jr. Memorial Foundation Scholarship, call or email Thelma Smith at Thelma.smith@comcast.net or 615-579-7549.

Applications must be postmarked by June 22, 2013; recipients will be announced the first weekend of July. 

Friday, June 14, 2013 

Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Monday, June 10, 2013

 Saturday, June 8, 2013

Friday, June 7, 2013

Thursday, June 6, 2013

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Tuesday, June 4, 2013

Monday, June , 3, 2013

  • Remington College is offering No-Cost and Low-Cost Teeth Cleanings during the month June at their Nashville campus at 441 Donelson Pike, Suite 150. The hours are:
    Mondays: 10:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. and 2:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m.
    Tuesdays: 9:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m., and 2:00 pm-5:00 p.m.
    Wednesdays: 8:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m.
    Thursdays: 9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m.-5:00 p.m.
  • CMA Mu, sic Festival starts this week! Click here for schedule and for artists at appearing at Fan Fest

 Saturday, June 1, 2, 013

Thursday, May 30, 2013

Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Sunday, May 26, 2013

Friday, May 24, 2013

Thursday, May 23, 2013

Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Monday, May 20, 2013

Friday, May 17, 2013

Thursday, May 16, 2013

Wednesday, May 15,, 2013

Monday, May 13, 2013

Sunday, May 12, 2013

Saturday, May 11, , 2013

Friday, May 10, 2013

Wednesday, May 8, 2013

Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Monday, May 6, 2013

Sunday, May 5, 2013

Saturday, May 4, 2013

Friday, May 3, 2013

Thursday, May 2, 2013

Wednesday, May 1, , 2013

Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Saturday, April 27, 2013

Friday, April 26, 2013

Thursday, April 25, 2013

Tuesday, April 23, 2013

M, onday, April 22, 2013

, Sunday, April 21, 2013

Saturday, April 20,, 2013

Friday, April 19, 2013

Thursday, April 18, 2013

Wednesday, April 17, 2013

Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Monday, April 15, 2013

Sunday, April 14, 2013

Friday, April 12, 2013

Thursday, April 11, , 2013

Wednesday, April 10, 2013

Tuesday, April 9,,, 2013

Monday, April 8, , 2013

Friday, April 5, 2013

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Tuesday, April 2, 2013

 Monday, April 1, 2013

Sunday, March 31, 2013

Friday, March 29, 2013

Thursday, March 28, 2013

Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Monday, March 25, 2013

Saturday, March 23, 2013

Friday, March 22, 2013

Wednesday, March 20, 2013

  • Interactive elementary classroom activity designed to encourage physical wellness, and challenges the mind. For link to website click <, /strong>here.

Sunday, March 17, 2013

Friday, March 15, 2013

Thursday, March 14, 2013

  • If a driver would like to seek compensation for damages on TN roads, they would need to file a claim with the TN Claims Commission. You can find a link to a form here.

Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Monday, March 11, 2013

Friday, March 8, 2013

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Wednesday, March, 6, 2013

Tuesday, March 5, 2013

Monday, March 4, 2013

Frid, ay, Februar, y 29, 2013

Thursday, February 28, 2013

Wednesday, February 27, 2013

Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Monday, February 25, , 2013

Saturday, February 23, 2013

Friday, February 22, 2013

Thursday, February 21, 2013

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Monday, February 18, 2013

Sunday, February 17, 2013

Friday, February 15, 2013

Wednesday, February 13, 2013

Tuesday, February 12,, 2013

Monday, February 11, 2013

Friday, February 8, 2013

Thursday, February 7, 2013

Wednesday, February 6, 2013

Tuesday, February 5, 2013

Monday, February 4, 2013

Friday, February 1, 2013

Thursday, January 31, 2013

  • After six months of public meetings, the final , report for the South of Broadway Strategic Plan is complete and available on line atwww.nashvillemusiccitycenter.com.

Tuesday, January 29, 2013


Saturday, January 26, 2013

Friday, January 25, 2013

Thursday, January 24, 2013

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Friday, January 18, 2013

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Saturday, January 12, 2013

Friday, January 11, 2013

Thursday, January 10, 2013

Saturday, January 5, 2013

Thursday, January 3, 2013

Wednesday, January 2, 2013

Tuesday, January 1, 2013 

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 NewsChannel 5 (WTVF-TV) and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.