8 Tennessee Historic Places Added To National Register - NewsChannel5.com | Nashville News, Weather & Sports

8 Tennessee Historic Places Added To National Register

Posted: Updated:

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) - Eight Tennessee sites spanning the state have been added to the National Register of Historic Places.

The newly recognized sites are:

-- Beaty General Merchandise Store in Fentress County.

-- Crockett Tavern Museum in Hamblen County.

-- Greenback Depot in Loudon County.

-- M.A. Helm House in McMinn County.

-- Rocky Springs Presbyterian Church in Sevier County.

-- Sears Roebuck and Co. Catalog Distribution Center and Retail Store In Shelby County.

-- Wartburg Presbyterian Church in Morgan County.

-- Westmoreland Water Wheel and Gatepost in Knox County.

The Tennessee Historical Commission says the sites' recognition honors the state and helps residents understand their heritage.

(Copyright 2014 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 NewsChannel 5 (WTVF-TV) and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.