Eight More Counties Approved For Disaster Aid - NewsChannel5.com | Nashville News, Weather & Sports

Eight More Counties Approved For Disaster Aid


NASHVILLE, Tenn. - The federal government has authorized a major disaster declaration for eight more Tennessee counties.

Benton, Hickman, Houston, Lewis, Montgomery, Perry, Trousdale and Williamson counties will receive federal funding to assist individuals and businesses affected by the tornadoes last week, according to Gov. Phil Bredesen's office.

Hardin, Macon, Madison, Shelby and Sumner counties, were among the hardest hit in last week's storms. They were authorized to receive federal aid last week.

"I am pleased to hear the authorization of federal funding to aid these distressed counties," Bredesen said in a news release. "As I toured Tennessee last week, the devastation caused by these deadly storms drove home to me once again how critically important it is to bring state and federal assistance to bear to help these communities recover as quickly as possible."

Bredesen toured impacted areas last week. FEMA Administrator David Paulison, Homeland Secretary Michael Chertoff and President Bush also toured the areas on Thursday and Friday.

Assistance includes grants and loans to individuals or businesses to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in all 13 of the designated counties should begin applying for assistance immediately by registering online at www.fema.gov.

Powered by WorldNow
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 NewsChannel 5 (WTVF-TV) and WorldNow. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.