Dottie West, Ricky Skaggs & Johnny Gimble Named To Country Music Hall Of Fame

Posted at 10:45 AM, Mar 27, 2018
and last updated 2018-03-27 21:04:20-04

Dottie West, Johnny Gimble and Ricky Skaggs were named as this year’s inductees to the Country Music Hall of Fame.  

Garth Brooks and Trisha Yearwood announced the 2018 class Tuesday morning in Nashville. 

McMinnville native Dottie West was chosen as this year’s inductee in the Veterans Era. She was the first female Country artist to win a Grammy. Her duet partners Kenny Rogers, Jim Reeves and Don Gibson have already been inducted into the Hall of Fame.

The Mayor of McMinnville, Jimmy Haley, sent the following statement to NewsChannel 5 about West's induction announcement:

"It is a great day across the city of McMinnville as we celebrate this long overdue recognition of our hometown country icon, Dottie West. Dottie was a trendsetter and a trailblazer who helped many artists get their start in country music. For years, McMinnville’s residents and officials have worked to memorialize the contributions of our "Miss Country Sunshine" in various public displays, including a wide scale campaign to secure her induction into the Country Music Hall of Fame. This honor ensures that Dottie's legacy will be remembered by generations of music fans."

Fiddle player Johnny Gimble was selected for the Recording and/or Touring Musician category. Throughout his famed career, he received 15 CMA nominations and performed with the likes of Bob Wills, Marty Robbins, and Willie Nelson. 

Rounding out this year’s class was Ricky Skaggs, who was selected as the Modern Era Artist inductee. He’s won eight CMA Awards and 15 Recording Academy trophies. 

Skaggs is well known for both Country and Bluegrass music and has been a member of the Grand Ole Opry for 35 years.

The official induction ceremony will take place later this year.