News

Actions

Fines Going Up For Not Wearing Seat Belts

Posted at 4:37 PM, Nov 29, 2015
and last updated 2015-11-29 17:37:51-05

Fines for not wearing seat beats in Tennessee will more than double at the beginning of next year.

According to reports, the cost of a first-time violation has been set to rise from $10 to $25, and the cost of a second violation was set to go from $20 to $50.

The hike in fines will come months after the Tennessee Governor's Highway Safety Office and the Tennessee Highway Patrol announced that seat belt usage is down this year.

THP Commander Colonel Tracy Trott said seat belts save lives and he has been hoping the higher fines push more people to change their behavior and wear them.