A measure aimed at getting more people to buckle up, or pay up, is one of many new Tennessee laws taking effect Friday.
The tougher seat belt law increases the fine for first-time offenders from $10 to $25 and from $20 to $50 for repeat offenders.
According to the state Department of Safety and Homeland Security, more than 300 people who were not wearing seat belts died on Tennessee roadways in 2015.
Another new law requires Tennessee law enforcement agencies to implement policies to prevent racial profiling.
Also taking effect is a law to help raise awareness and prevent occurrences of sudden cardiac arrest, which proponents say is the leading cause of death in student athletes.