Major Disaster Declaration granted to 10 Tennessee counties for Oct. severe weather damage

Capitol View
2016 M_12km_ExacTrak_DMA Wind GUSTS.png
Posted at 3:57 PM, Dec 06, 2019
and last updated 2019-12-06 17:16:08-05

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WTVF) — The Federal government granted Governor Bill Lee's request for Major Disaster Declaration in 10 counties following damaging storms in October.

“The devastating severe weather required a comprehensive response and stretched many local jurisdictions to their resource limits,” Gov. Bill Lee said. “We are committed to supporting these communities and to securing the necessary resources for their recovery efforts.”

The counties receiving support are Benton, Decatur, Hardin, Henderson, Houston, Humphreys, McNairy, Montgomery, Perry, and Wayne.

The declaration will allow government entities and certain private non-profits to apply for reimbursement of specific expenses related to the October 26 severe weather.

The declaration also makes Tennessee eligible for the federal Hazard Mitigation Grant Program, which provides assistance to communities to prevent or reduce long-term risks to life and property from natural hazards.

Information what's eligible under FEMA's PA program can be found on its website. The 10 counties combined reported more than $21.8 million in storm damage to local infrastructure and for their emergency response work.