At the stroke of midnight on January 1, 2016 several new laws took affect in the State of Tennessee.
Drivers now have more time in between drivers license renewal. You can now wait eight years before you have to get a new license. The change is one way to cut down on wait times at Driver Service Centers in the state.
The fine for not wearing a seatbelt has more than doubled. It went from $10 to $25 for first-time offenders, and from $20 to $50 for repeat offenders.
The state is cracking down on drivers who do not have auto insurance. The fine for not having coverage has tripled from $100 to $300. If you are pulled over, and you do not have insurance, police can now tow your car. You will also have to show proof of liability insurance when you go to the county clerk to renew your tags.
A new law bans the sale of certain cough medicines to minors. You now have to be over 18-years-old to by medication that contains the cough suppressant Dextromethorphan.
There is now a registry that will list the names of convicted animal abusers. It is similar to the state's sex offender registry.
The goal of the Sudden Cardiac Arrest Act is to make parents, teachers, and coaches more aware of the sudden cardiac arrest in young people. Parents will now be required to sign consent forms before their children are able to participate in sports activities.
Tennessee's inheritance tax ended with the end of 2015.
Minors will no longer be able to purchase vapor products used with electronic cigarettes.