The General Assembly sees between 70 and 80 firearm bills every single year. However, only a couple, if any get passed. This year two bills surrounding firearms are worth noting.
For the fist time in Tennessee people between the ages of 18 and 20 will be allowed to get a handgun carry permit. The law will only apply to individuals who are an active service member in the military or a veteran of the U.S Armed Forces.
"Those guys in the military could walk around downtown Nashville on News Years Eve armed where they couldn't on December, 31," said Tennessee Firearms Executive Director John Harris. He considers the law a move towards constitutional carry in the state.
Also, the fee to apply for a lifetime handgun carry permit will will decrease from $500 to $200 for renewals. Initial applicants will have to pay $315.
A major anti crime law will also take effect Sunday. It establishes mandatory minimum sentences for those convicted of three or more charges of aggravated burglary, especially aggravated burglary or drug trafficking. Law makers hope to address the most serious crimes driving the state's violent crime rate with the bill.
A change is also coming to locally brewed alcohol. Breweries across the state will be allowed to make beer and hard cider with higher alcohol content. Currently, the limit is 6.2 but the new law will raise it to 10.1.
Also beginning the first of the year, those who are convicted of driving on a revoked or suspended license may still be able to keep their licenses.