TN Voters Cast Ballots For House, Senate Seats

Posted at 6:18 AM, Nov 08, 2016
and last updated 2016-11-08 20:39:01-05

Voters in Tennessee will decide who will represent them in Washington as well as at the capital right here at home.

Two state races that have made major waves are the race for the Tennessee Senate District 20 seat between Steven Reid Dickerson (R) (Incumbent) and Erin Coleman (D) and the race for the Tennessee House District 56 seat between Beth Harwell (R) (Incumbent) and Chris Moth (D).          

Tennessee's eight incumbent U.S. House members -- six Republicans and two Democrats -- were expected to win re-election without much stress on Election Day.

Incumbent U.S. House of Representatives Republican Marsha Blackburn won re-election in Tennessee's 7th Congressional District against Tharon Chandler (D) and Leonard Ladner.

In the solidly Republican 8th District in West Tennessee, Republican Stephen Fincher vacated his seat with the surprise announcement earlier this year that he would not seek a fourth term. Republican David Kustoff, a former U.S. attorney, is taking on little-known Democrat Rickey Hobson there.

More than 1.6 million voters cast early ballots in Tennessee, likely spurred by the pivotal and contentious presidential race featuring Democrat Hillary Clinton and Republican Donald Trump.