Tennessee lawmakers elect 3 statewide officials

Bill would make it illegal for landlords to rent to undocumented immigrants in Tennessee
Posted at 9:49 PM, Jan 13, 2021
and last updated 2021-01-13 22:49:46-05

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WTVF) — Tennessee lawmakers have voted to reelect the secretary of state and treasurer and pick a new comptroller.

The Republican supermajority General Assembly cast votes Wednesday on the three statewide offices.

A caucus of Republican lawmakers on Tuesday nominated Jason Mumpower to become comptroller and Secretary of State Tre Hargett and Treasurer David Lillard to keep their positions.

Mumpower has served as the top deputy for current Comptroller Justin Wilson, who is retiring. Wilson was first elected in 2009. The secretary of state is elected to four-year terms, while the comptroller and treasurer serve two-year terms.