Tennessee lawmakers to elect 3 statewide officials

Legislative Session Tennessee
Posted at 10:52 AM, Jan 13, 2021
and last updated 2021-01-13 11:53:02-05

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP)  — Tennessee lawmakers are poised to vote to reelect the secretary of state and treasurer and pick a new comptroller.

The Republican supermajority General Assembly will cast votes Wednesday on the three statewide offices.

A caucus of Republican lawmakers on Tuesday nominated Jason Mumpower to become comptroller and Secretary of State Tre Hargett and Treasurer David Lillard to keep their positions. Mumpower is the top deputy for current Comptroller Justin Wilson, who is retiring. Wilson was first elected in 2009.

The secretary of state is elected to four-year terms, while the comptroller and treasurer serve two-year terms.