Maren Morris tops list of CMA Awards nominations

2019 iHeartRadio Music Awards – Show
Posted at 9:05 AM, Aug 28, 2019
and last updated 2019-08-28 11:10:19-04

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WTVF) — The nominations for the 2019 CMA Awards were announced Wednesday morning.

Maren Morris topped the list with six nominations.

Garth Brooks, Eric Church, Chris Stapleton, Carrie Underwood and Keith Urban were nominated for Entertainer of the Year.

The nominees for Album of the Year are "Center Point Road" by Thomas Rhett, "Cry Pretty" by Carrie Underwood, "Dan + Shay" by Dan + Shay, "Desperate Man" by Eric Church and "GIRL" by Maren Morris.

Song of the Year nominations include "Beautiful Crazy" written by Luke Combs, Wyatt B. Durrette III, and Robert Williford, "GIRL" written by Maren Morris, Sarah Aarons and Greg Kurstin, "God's Country" written by Devin Dawson, Jordan Schmidt and Michael Hardy, "Rainbow" written by Natalie Hemby, Shane McAnally and Kacey Musgraves and "Tequila" written by Dan Smyers, Nicolle Galyon and Jordan Reynolds.

Kelsea Ballerini, Miranda Lambert, Maren Morris, Kacey Musgraves and Carrie Underwood were nominated for Female Vocalist of the Year. Dierks Bentley, Luke Combs, Thomas Rhett, Chris Stapleton and Keith Urban were nominated for Male Vocalist of the Year.

Other categories include:

New Artist of the Year:

  • Cody Johnson
  • Ashley McBryde
  • Midland
  • Carly Pearce
  • Morgan Wallen

Musical Event of the Year:

  • "All My Favorite People" by Maren Morris (Featuring Brothers Osborne) and produced by Maren Morris and busbee
  • "Brand New Man" by Brooks & Dunn (With Luke Combs) and produced by Dann Huff
  • "Dive Bar" by Garth Brooks and Blake Shelton and produced by Garth Brooks
  • "Old Town Road (Remix)" by Lil Nas X (Featuring Billy Ray Cyrus) and produced by YoungKio, Michael Trent Reznor and Atticus Matthew Ross
  • "What Happens In A Small Town" by Brantley Gilbert and Lindsay Ell and produced by Dann Huff

Single of the Year:

  • "Burning Man" by Dierks Bentley (Featuring Brothers Osborne), produced by Ross Copperman, Joe Randall, Arturo Buenahora Jr. and mixed by F. Reid Shippen
  • "Girl" by Maren Morris, produced and mixed by Greg Kurstin
  • "God's County" by Blake Shelton, produced by Scott Hendricks and mixed by Justin Niebank
  • "Millionaire" by Chris Stapleton, produced by Dave Cobb and Chris Stapleton and mixed by Vance Powell
  • "Speechless" by Dan + Shay, produced by Dan Smyers and Scott Hendricks and mized by Jeff Juliano

Vocal Group of the Year:

  • Lady Antebellum
  • Little Big Town
  • Midland
  • Old Dominion
  • Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo of the Year:

  • Brooks & Dunn
  • Brothers Osborne
  • Dan + Shay
  • Florida Georgia Line
  • Maddie & Tae

Musician of the Year:

  • Jenee Fleenor, fiddle
  • Paul Franklin, Steel guitar
  • Mac McAnally, guitar
  • Ilya Toshinsky, banjo/guitar
  • Derek Wells, guitar

Music Video of the Year:

  • "Burning Man" by Dierks Bentley (Featuring Brothers Osborne), directed by Wes Edwards
  • "GIRL" by Maren Morris, directed by Dave Meyers
  • "God's Country" by Blake Shelton, directed by Sophie Muller
  • "Rainbow" by Kacey Musgraves, directed by Hannah Lux Davis
  • "Some Of It" by Eric Church, directed by Reid Long

This year's CMA Awards will be hosted by Carrie Underwood with special guest hosts Reba McEntire and Dolly Parton. The 53rd year of the award ceremony will be held at Bridgestone Arena Wednesday, November 13.