Longtime Politicians Fall Flat In Tennessee Primaries

Posted at 8:10 AM, Aug 03, 2018
and last updated 2018-08-03 09:10:28-04

Longtime Tennessee politicians Mae Beavers and Ernest Burgess fell flat in Thursday night's primaries. 

Longtime State Sen. Mae Beavers was handedly defeated in the Wilson County Mayoral race, earning just 32.1 percent of the vote compared to Randall Hutto’s 67.9 percent. 

Beavers served District 17 for more a decade was a one-time gubernatorial contender before suspending her campaign earlier this year. 

Rutherford County Mayor Ernest Burgess also lost his state senate bid to State Rep. Dawn White. 

White carried 58.2 percent of the vote, while Burgess received 41.8 percent. 

Burgess has served as mayor since 2006 and will retire at the end of August. 

Click here to see full list of results.