NewsNational News


NHL Awards wraps up in Las Vegas, where league just expanded

Posted at 12:59 AM, Jun 23, 2016
The best players in the NHL gathered in Nevada on Wednesday to find out just how award-worthy their performances in the 2015-2016 season were.
It all went down at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas, where on the same day, the NHL announced it would be expanding to.
Actor Will Arnett hosted the show and didn’t hesitate to joke with the players, sparing no expense to those on his own favorite team, the Toronto Maple Leafs (watch below).

The major awards up for grabs included the Hart Trophy, Ted Lindsay Award, Vezina Trophy, Norris Trophy, Selke Trophy, Calder Trophy, Jack Adams Award, Bill Masterton Trophy, Lady Byng Award and Mark Messier Leadership Award
See the winner’s list for the above awards below.
Hart Trophy (MVP): Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks
Ted Lindsay Award (MVP as voted by players): Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks
Vezina Trophy (best goalie): Braden Holtby, Washington Capitals
Norris Trophy (best defenseman): Drew Doughty, Los Angeles Kings
Selke Trophy (best defensive forward): Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings
Calder Trophy (rookie of the year): Artemi Panarin, Chicago Blackhawks
Jack Adams Award (coach of the year): Barry Trotz, Washingon Capitals
Bill Masterton Trophy (Perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey): Jaromir Jagr, Florida Panthers
Lady Byng Award (best displays gentlemanly conduct): Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings
Mark Messier Leadership Award: Shea Weber, Nashville Predators