Yarbrough Leads Harding To Title, OT Win

Posted at 8:24 PM, Mar 05, 2016
and last updated 2016-03-05 21:24:49-05

MVP Anthony Yarbrough scored 40 points and grabbed 17 rebounds as Harding Academy rallied from a 31-point deficit to win the Tennessee Division II-A title with an 87-84 overtime victory over Franklin Road Academy on Saturday.

Timothy Taylor hit two foul shots with 43 seconds left for an 83-81 lead, and Yarbrough sealed the win with four of his 16 made free throws in leading Harding (22-11) to its third straight title.
FRA (25-8) led 77-70 with 2:22 left in regulation, but Harding made a 7-0 run and tied the game at 77 with a minute left on Calvin Austin's layup that forced overtime.

The Panthers (25-8) seemed in control up 63-32 on Nick Murphy's 3-point play with 4:02 left in the third quarter before a 27-2 run by Harding Academy. FRA led 77-70 with 2:22 left in regulation too before Harding scored seven straight to force overtime.

Austin and Evin Olds both scored 12 points for Harding Academy. Larry Crum added 11, and Taylor had 10.

Jack Doherty led FRA with 33 points, hitting 15 of 16.

Mr. Basketball finalist Kenny Cooper added 21 points and 10 rebounds for FRA. Brennan Crook scored 13 points, and Spence Jones had 13 rebounds.