Fireworks: the rules and regulations you need to know before celebrating Independence Day

Posted at 4:56 PM, Jul 02, 2019
and last updated 2019-07-02 21:20:11-04

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WTVF) — As Americans prepare to celebrate the Fourth of July next week, don’t forget that fireworks rules can vary from county to county in Middle Tennessee. Here's a look at the regulations by location:

Davidson County:
It is legal to buy or possess fireworks, but you cannot shoot them in the county.

Williamson County:
Regulations can vary from city to city. However, neither Brentwood nor Franklin allow fireworks to be used in city limits.

It's only permissible to use fireworks on July 3, 4, and 5 between the hours of 10 a.m. and 11 p.m.

Fireworks cannot be set off within the city limits. In Gallatin, fireworks are allowed until 10 p.m. on July 1-3 and 11 p.m. until July 4.

Montgomery County:
You can set off fireworks inside city limits from July 1-5 between the hours of 6 p.m. and 10 p.m.
Jim Knoll with Clarksville police said if you don't obey these regulations you could face a fine. In Clarksville, it is $50 plus court costs. Clarksville police have already received dozens of complaints.
"We've had about 100 plus calls about fireworks and the reasons vary," said Knoll, "from look my kid is trying to sleep to my dog is losing his mind or medical issues."

Fireworks and sparklers can be a lot of fun but remember they can also be dangerous. Sparklers can reach temperatures over 1,200 degrees. Knoll explains that for this reason those under the age of 16 should be supervised by adults.

If you're unsure about your city or county's regulations, call your local fire or police departments.