Gov. Lee signs congressional redistricting bill splitting Davidson County

congressional districts republican proposed
Posted at 10:33 AM, Feb 07, 2022
and last updated 2022-02-08 14:04:07-05

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (WTVF) — Davidson County has officially been split into three congressional districts.

On Sunday, Gov. Bill Lee signed the controversial congressional redistricting bill. The new law splits Davidson County into districts 5, 6 and 7. It's the first time the county has been split into separate districts.

Davidson county congressional district republican proposed

Lee also signed bills that redraw election boundaries for Tennessee's Senate and House seats.

Critics of the plan said it breaks up the Democratic stronghold of Nashville to include dozens of more Republican-leaning rural counties — diluting votes of minority community members.

Republicans supporting the plan argue Nashville will benefit from more representation in Washington.

In response to the plan, U.S. Rep. Jim Cooper, who represents Nashville, announced he will not seek reelection.

Cooper said his decision was 100% due to "the legislature's gerrymandering."

Monday, the Democratic Party of Tennessee said they plan to file a lawsuit to challenge the redistricting plan. The state Democratic caucus is also working on a lawsuit. The House and Senate redistricting plans, as well as, the congressional redistricting plan will be the target of those lawsuits.

For details on how the redistricting process impacted your area, the Tennessee Comptroller's Office has an online dashboard with more information.