Tennessee majority caucus elects Glen Casada as House Speaker

Posted at 12:40 PM, Nov 20, 2018
and last updated 2018-11-20 20:02:25-05

Glen Casada was voted in as the new Speaker of the Tennessee House of Representatives, replacing Beth Harwell.

Three lawmakers have made their bid for the seat. They are Majority Leader Glenn Casada of Franklin, Assistant Leader David Hawk of Greeneville and Speaker Pro Tem Curtis Johnson of Clarksville. 

Casada won the election with 47 of the 73 votes.

Harwell relinquished the seat during her 2018 run for governor. She lost in the August 4 Republican primary.

Governor-elect Bill Lee congratulated Casada on Twitter.

Casada's leadership role adds to an already robust group of lawmakers and state leadership from Williamson County. Governor-elect Bill Lee hails from Fernvale. Senator-elect Marsha Blackburn lives in Brentwood and Representative Casada is from Franklin.

"There is a healthy rivalry between the house, the senate and the governor. So, it's not like we're on the same side of government. We're three different branches. And so, the word I'm going to use is "a healthy rivalry" with the governor, with the house, with the Senate and the judiciary too," said Casada about the connection.