Three New Members Elected to MNPS Board

Posted at 10:07 PM, Aug 03, 2018
and last updated 2018-08-03 23:26:08-04

Three new members will soon be weighing in during Metro Nashville Public Schools board meetings.

Former teacher and mom Rachael Anne Elrod will represent District 2.  She beat four other opponents to win the seat that has been held by Jo Ann Brannon for many years.

Elrod said the was excited and encouraged by the election results.  She said her priorities will be transparency and accountability, supporting teachers, and funneling money back into classrooms.

“My goal has always been in every position, to handle people with respect,” said Elrod. “I pride myself on being a good listener, not just a good talker.”

Fran Bush defeated incumbent Tyese Hunter to represent District 6.  She watched the election results at her home with her family and celebrated when the final numbers came in.

Newcomer Beats 'Endorsed' School Board Incumbent

Bush is a native Nashvillian, mom and entrepreneur.  She wants to make school safety a priority and hold Dr. Shawn Joseph accountable during the budget process.

“I am very transparent,” said Bush.  “Whatever they see, I will do.  I have a proven track record.  I work hard in the community, and will do the same thing on the board.”

Gini Pupo-Walker will be the new representative for District 8.  She is also a native Nashvillian, a long-time educator, who works for a local non-profit.  She is the first-ever Latina school board member in Nashville.

She said all board decisions should be based on what will increase student success.  She wanted to address low performing schools, and improving college readiness for students.

“I’m a realist,” said Pupo-Walker.  “I think it will be hard work, no question about it.  I have been in almost every Metro school and I know the communities they are serving.  I have a sense of their community leaders and maybe I can help them on some of those issues.”

All three women said they believed they could bring fresh ideas to the board.

Board Chair Anna Shepherd ran unopposed for the District 4 seat.

All three will be sworn in Aug. 30.  All board members serve a four year term.

(615) 643-4531 (615) 643-4531 (615) 643-4531